Meritorious Service award 

excellence in fisheries education award

conservation award 

presidential award

eileen setzler-hamilton memorial scholarship

AFS Tidewater Seeks Nominees for Service Awards, Eileen Setzler-Hamilton Scholarship Applications


Sara Mirabilio, Awards & Scholarship Committee chair, 252-475-5488,

The Awards and Scholarship Committee is soliciting nominations for several deserving individuals to receive awards at the 34th Annual Meeting of the American Fisheries Society (AFS) Tidewater Chapter being held March 12-14, 2020 in Hampton, Virginia.  Specific awards to be given are:  Conservation, Excellence in Fisheries Education, and Meritorious Service.  In addition, the Committee is accepting student applications for the Eileen Setzler-Hamilton Memorial Scholarship.      

The Conservation Award is given to an individual, resource management agency, business or nonprofit organization that the Tidewater Chapter deems has accomplished notable fisheries or habitat conservation activities.  This past year’s award went to the Maryland Coastal Bays Program – one of 28 programs with the National Estuary Program.

Mike Wilberg, a fisheries science Professor at the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science’s Chesapeake Biological Laboratory (CBL), was the recipient of the 2018 Excellence in Fisheries Education Award.  This award is given to an individual who has achieved excellence in teaching and student advising in the field of fisheries science, or closely related curriculum, and who also encourages student participation in AFS, Tidewater Chapter, and other fisheries-related meetings.

The Meritorious Service Award is given to a member of the Chapter for their unswerving loyalty, dedication, and service in advancing the programs, objectives, and long-term goals of the Chapter.  No one has been nominated to receive the award since 2015.  Stephanie McInerny, Chapter secretary and treasurer since 2006, was the recipient that year.

The Eileen Setzler-Hamilton Memorial Scholarship also is awarded at the Chapter’s annual meeting to an outstanding graduate student currently enrolled in a fisheries science or closely related curriculum who has displayed a commitment to excellence in research, teaching, professional undertakings, public education, and community service.  This award was created in 2003 to remember Dr. Eileen Setzler-Hamilton, a long-time member of AFS and fourth president (1989) of the Tidewater Chapter.  Recipients receive a certificate and a $600 scholarship.  The 2019 “Eileen Award” was presented to Riley Gallagher, a master’s student at North Carolina State University.  Under the advisement of Jeff Buckel, he is investigating cobia stock structure and population dynamics in North Carolina and Virginia.

DOWNLOAD the Eileen S-H Award application here.

Please help the Awards and Scholarship Committee by nominating deserving individuals for these awards. 

Send nominations, complete with brief description of why you think they deserve the award, by 8 AM EST on Friday, April 22, 2021 to Sara Mirabilio, the Awards and Scholarship Committee chair, at

Student applications for the Eileen S-H should be submitted by April 22, 2021.

For questions or concerns, contact Sara Mirabilio at 252-475-5488 or



CLICK HERE to download the list of past award recipients. File was updated March 2015.

Meritorious Service Award

Stephanie McInerny, 2015

Ron Klauda, 2014

Bob Murphy, 2013

Dave Secor, 2012

Charles Manooch, 2011

John Olney, 2008

Roger Rulifson, 2006

James Morris, 2005

Fred Harris, 2004

Ron Klauda, 2003

Bill Rodney, 2001

Rick Eades, 1998

John Cooper, 1996

Excellence in Fisheries Education Award

Mike Wilberg, 2018

Fred Scharf, 2017

Rob Latour, 2016

Thomas J. Miller, 2015

Skip Kemp, 2014

Jack Musick, 2013

Vic Kennedy, 2012

Jeff Buckel, 2011

Don Kelso, 2010

Ed Houde, 2009

Tom Lankford, 2006

John Olney, 2005

Dave Secor, 2004

Eileen Setzler-Hamilton, 2000

Roger Rulifson, 1999

Conservation Award

Maryland Coastal Bays Program, 2018

Anne Deaton, 2017

Jim Wesson, 2016

Senator C. Bernard “Bernie” Fowler, 2015

North Carolina Coastal Federation, 2014

Bill Goldsborough, 2013

Kent Mountford, 2012

Mike Street, 2011

Jack Travelstead, 2010

Karl Blakenship, 2009

Jim Uphoff, 2009

Robert “JJ” Orth, 2007

Mike Naylor, 2006

Ed Houde, 2005

Beth Versak, 2004

Wilson Laney, 2004

Ken Paynter, 2003

John Olney, 2003

Special Presidential Award

Jacob Boyd, 2017

Jacob Boyd, 2014

Danielle Zevata, 2013

Stephanie McInerny, 2007, 2012

Bob Murphy, 2006

Erik Zlokovitz, 2005

Roger Rulifson, 2004

Ron Klauda, 2003

Ron Klauda, 1998

John Cooper, 1993

Joe Loesch, 1993

Eileen Setzler-Hamilton Memorial Scholarship

Brendan Runde, 2017

Willy Goldsmith, 2016

Rebecca Peters, 2015

David Kazyak, First Place, 2013

Chad Smith, Second Place, 2013

Andre Bucheister, First Place, 2012

Cory Janiak, Second Place, 2012

Steve Midway, 2011

Jacob Boyd, 2010

Cecilia Krahforst, 2009

Janet Nye, 2005

Jennifer Cudney, 2002