AFS Tidewater

Welcome to the AFS Tidewater Chapter website. We are currently updating our entire site, so this is a temporary home page that features important chapter updates regarding the upcoming annual meeting and award nominations/applications.


35th Annual Chapter Meeting

March 26-28, 2022

Nags Head, NC

DOWNLOAD the 2022 student application for the Eileen Setzler-Hamilton Memorial Application.

Send completed application to Paul Rudershausen by 8 AM on Friday (2/4).

Paul is also seeking nominations for other awards to be presented at the 35th Annual Chapter Meeting in March. See below for details.

The Conservation Award is given to an individual, resource management agency, business or nonprofit organization that the Tidewater Chapter deems has accomplished notable fisheries or habitat conservation activities. The most recent (2020) award went to Bob Fisher at the Virginia Institute of Marine Science for his many years of applied research projects important to stakeholders involved in Virginia’s estuarine fisheries. 


Mary Fabrizio, a fisheries science Professor at the Virginia Institute of Marine Science, was the recipient of the 2020 Excellence in Fisheries Education Award. This award is given to an individual who has achieved excellence in teaching and student advising in the field of fisheries science, or closely related curriculum, and who encourages student participation in AFS, Tidewater Chapter, and other fisheries-related meetings.


The Meritorious Service Award is given to a member of the Chapter for their unswerving loyalty, dedication, and service in advancing the programs, objectives, and long-term goals of the Chapter.  No one has been nominated to receive the award since 2015. Stephanie McInerny, Chapter secretary and treasurer since 2006, was the recipient that year.


The Eileen Setzler-Hamilton Memorial Scholarship also is awarded at the Chapter’s annual meeting to an outstanding graduate student currently enrolled in a fisheries science or closely related curriculum who has displayed a commitment to excellence in research, teaching, professional undertakings, public education, and community service. This award was created in 2003 to remember Dr. Eileen Setzler-Hamilton, a long-time member of AFS and fourth president (1989) of the Tidewater Chapter. Recipients receive a certificate and a $600 scholarship. The 2021 “Eileen Award” was presented to Madeline Farmer, who was a masters student under the supervision of Dr. Brad Stevens at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore.


Please help the Awards and Scholarship Committee by nominating deserving individuals for these awards. Send nominations, complete with brief description of why you think they deserve the award, by Friday, Feb. 4th to Paul Rudershausen, the Awards and Scholarship Committee chair, at


Click HERE or scan the QR code below.

The mission of the American Fisheries Society is to improve the conservation and sustainability of fishery resources and aquatic ecosystems by advancing fisheries and aquatic science and promoting the development of fisheries professionals.

The Tidewater Chapter is composed of members of the fisheries community from Maryland, Virginia and North Carolina. The Tidewater Chapter membership is quite diverse with expertise ranging from inland to offshore fisheries.